Skip to content


A world in which everyone has access to the best possible standard of eye health; where no one is needlessly visually impaired; and where those with irreparable vision loss achieve their full potential.


To achieve universal access to eye health, by:

  • adding value to and maximising the impact of the individual and collective work of our Members, including those who strive for the inclusion and rehabilitation of those with vision loss,
  • promoting knowledge and awareness of comprehensive eye health system development, particularly at country level.


In all our endeavours, IAPB Members, staff and supporters will strive to be guided by the following values:

Plurality – we embrace the plurality of approaches we adopt in the pursuit of our common goals, in the belief that our strength derives from diversity rather than uniformity.

Collaboration – we believe that by working together we have far greater chances of achieving change than any one organisation can alone. We actively seek partnerships and collaboration with others as an effective means to achieve our vision.

IAPB Board of Trustees

The board of trustees is the key governing body of IAPB, setting strategic priorities and overseeing the implementation of IAPB’s strategic plan. The board is made up of representatives from the IAPB membership, officers and regional chairs, and it meets twice a year.

  • President and Chairman of the Board: Bob McMullan
  • Vice President: Victoria Sheffield
  • Treasurer: Debra Davis

  • Neeru Gupta – International Council of Ophthalmology
  • Arnt Holte – World Blind Union
  • Mohammad Babar Qureshi – CBM
  • Jennifer Gersbeck – The Fred Hollows Foundation
  • Jess Blijkers – Light for the World
  • Gudrun Yngvadottir – Lions Club International Federation
  • Caroline Harper – Sightsavers
  • Haidong Zou – Shanghai Eye Disease Prevention and Treatment Center
  • Scott Mundle – World Council of Optometry

  • Dr Ahmed Trabelsi – Nadi Al Bassar
  • Prof. Dr. Tirtha Prasad Mishra – Nepal Netra Jyoti Sangh
  • Mr Kashinath Bhoosnurmath – Operation Eyesight Universal India
  • Danny Haddad – Orbis International
  • Michele Corcio – Agenzia Internazionale per la Prevenzione della Cecità-Sezione Italiana
  • Dr Rohit Khanna – L.V. Prasad Eye Institute (LVPEI)
  • Kathy Spahn – Helen Keller International (HKI)
  • Mr Job C. Heintz – Himalayan Cataract Project

  • Serge Resnikoff – Co-opted
  • Marcus Ang – 11th General Assembly Trustee
  • Aaron Thembinkosi Magava – Africa
  • HRH Prince Abdulaziz Bin Ahmad Bin Abdulaziz Al Saud – Eastern Mediterranean
  • Janos Nemeth – Europe
  • Francisco Martínez Castro – Latin America
  • Suzanne Gilbert – North America
  • Taraprasad Das – South East Asia
  • Amanda Davis – Western Pacific